Tuesday, December 28, 2010

Opening Day

(updated January 4, 2011) With yesterday's resignation by Milwaukee County Executive (and Governor-Elect) Scott Walker, I consider today to be the official start of the 2011 spring election season. Despite other races on the ballot (notably two seats on the County Board of Supervisors made vacant due to Elizabeth Coggs and Chris Larson winning election to the State Assembly and State Senate, respectively) and signature collection being underway for most of them, the County Executive one will dominate local media, discussion, and punditry from now until the April 5th general election. I will give a quick run-down of these contests as well as the one for the State Supreme Court seat currently held by David Prosser based on who has actually announced their candidacies.

Milwaukee County Executive

At the present time, announced candidates to complete Walker's term include Acting County Executive Lee Holloway of Milwaukee, State Representative Jeff Stone of Greendale, former State Senator Jim Sullivan of Wauwatosa, Argosy Foundation CEO Chris Abele of Milwaukee, Don Wadewitz of West Allis, and Ieshuh Griffin of Milwaukee. Others might enter the race in the coming days, with 2,000 signatures due by January 11th in order to appear on the ballot for the February 15th primary.

10th Supervisory District

Announced candidates to complete the term of State Representative-Elect Elizabeth Coggs are Eyon Biddle, Priscilla Coggs-Jones (daughter of Elizabeth Coggs), Ieshuh Griffin, Cavalier Johnson, and David King. King ran unsuccessfully for the post of Secretary of State this past fall. As with the county executive's race, all signatures (200 min.) must be in by January 11th.

14th Supervisory District

Announced candidates to complete the term of State Senator-Elect Chris Larson are Gregory Dickerson and Jason Haas. Haas ran unsuccessfully against Larson for this seat in 2008. Same rules apply for this race as the 10th district.

State Supreme Court

Current State Supreme Court Justice David Prosser will face the winner of a three-way primary in the April 5th general election. Those candidates are Assistant Attorney General Joanne Kloppenburg, Martha Stephens of Shorewood, and Joel Winnig of Madison. Signatures are due by January 4th.

As more candidates enter, I'll update this and will post more comprehensive information about these races onces the filing period expire on January 11th.

No comments:

Post a Comment